The story of us :: Part 11

Standard

Friday, September 13, 2002.  A day that will go down in history.  At least, it was a big one for us!  WEDDING DAY!

I woke up at 8am, excited but much calmer than I anticipated.  I took advantage of the giant garden tub in my room at the Abriendo Inn Bed and Breakfast, and soaked until I was too hungry to soak anymore!  Kimberly (my little sister/maid of honor) and I headed downstairs to check out the buffet.  It was fabulous, though I soon discovered that I was too excited to eat as much as I thought I wanted.

We drove out to my mom and dad’s house in time to catch the end of the breakfast craziness.  Can you believe that my parents made breakfast for the large crowd of friends and family staying there at the house?  I think at one point, someone counted 30 visitors on property… aside from my family!  It was a ton of fun.

There was a flurry of activity as everyone gathered dresses, shoes, curling irons, nail polish, my over-night bag, wedding planner notebook, and a hundred other little things that would come into play before the day was done.

Our first stop was the salon.  Who would have guessed?? 😉 We counted 95 tiny hair pins, carefully positioned to hold each little curl in place.  My friend Amanda did my makeup.  The moment my stylist said “All done.  How do you like it?” and showed me the mirror is the moment that everything went surreal.  Maybe it was the tiara.  Or the pile of curls on top of my head.  Whatever it was, I suddenly went from “WOW this is happening today!” to “this can’t be real.  Is this actually happening?”

I would love to recount every detail of that day in this post.  But honestly, the rest is fuzzy.  We went to the photographer’s later to don THE DRESS, and that is where Nathan and I got to see one another in all our decked-out attire!  I do remember his face when he walked into the room.  At that moment, all he said was “wow.”  What more does a girl need to hear on her wedding day?

bride

We drove with Leslie (my friend/photographer) to a nearby park for some beautiful outdoor photos.  And we had a blast!  Who knew taking wedding pictures would be so much fun??

throw

As we were wrapping up there, it started to rain.  Now, that might not mean much to you.  But that summer, Colorado was suffering a horrible drought.  It had been a hot couple of months, and absolutely no rain.  Everyone was so excited when those drops starting hitting the ground with such great force!  I’m not one to be a party-pooper, but I did start getting nervous.  It’s raining.  I’m outdoors.  In a beautiful white gown.  I can’t get muddy before the ceremony even happens!  Enter Prince Charming.

carry

Seeing my beloved and getting to laugh and take pictures before the ceremony was the best thing ever for my nerves.  I was so excited to meet him at the end of that aisle.candle lighting

The ceremony was perfect.  If anything went wrong, I certainly can’t recall it now.  It felt like a dream.  The music, the candles, the vows that we wrote for eachother, everything.  Nathan suggested that we do something a little different… so we washed eachother’s feet as symbol of our commitment to serve one another.  Yes, as part of the ceremony!  I was a little hesitant about that idea, but it ended up being incredibly special for us.  My one regret is that we don’t have a good video of our wedding.  That is sad.  But I’m so thankful for beautiful photos!

wedding party

Right there is another thing we are so thankful for.  All the wonderful friends and family who were a part of our wedding!  It would not have been the same without any one of them.

Back then, everyone thought it was super fun that I was marrying a Mexican! 😉 Okay, he’s technically American.  But he’s lived in Mexico most of his life!  Someone suggested that we do a Mexican-style reception.  So we did!  Chips, guacamole, taquitos, and about a thousand little tortilla pinwheel things that my dad (and several friends) made.  It was a blast!!  My sweet uncle made us plates, in case the food was gone by the time the receiving line was over.  I did not realize that it would take so long to get 350 people through a receiving line!  But truly, I would do it the same way again.  I loved getting to hug and greet every single person there.

It’s hard to choose a favorite part of the reception.  But if I had to, I would say it was this one…

Dadblessing

I don’t remember whose idea it was to have our fathers give us a blessing.  I had never seen anything like that done, and really wasn’t sure what to expect.  But it was precious.  Both mine and Nathan’s dad prayed that God would bless our marriage, future children, and lives.  I wish I had that on video.

Now let’s be really honest.  A reception is not really a party until the cake comes out, right??  We had amazing cake.  Almond poppy-seed with vanilla buttercream frosting.  Lots and lots of it.  And now I have the urge to go bake something.

It was an incredible day.  One that I will always remember with deep appreciation and fondness.

dipkiss

“I’m so glad I found you. If I had my life to live over again, next time, I’d find you sooner so I could love you longer.”

4 responses »

  1. Oh, I just loved reading all of this! I’m kinda sad you already made it to the wedding because that probably means you are done or about done – LOL!!!

    What a treasure this is! I’m sure it has taken alot of time and effort to record everything you remember from those days, but – hey – our memories aren’t getting any better as we have children and get older. You are so very smart for setting aside some afternoons to share your story online… because now it is here for others to share in too, including your children one day!

    Like

    • That’s EXACTLY the point. 🙂 I am losing memories as we get older, and I don’t want any more to be lost! I wanted this story, as detailed as I could remember it, for my kids.
      I think I’m going to try and write one more post. Wrap it up and try to explain how I feel about all of it now, 10-11 yrs later. We’ll see. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

