One last thought on my oven

Standard

First, let me apologize for all of the oven analogies.  3 days in a row, Julie?  Seriously?  I know.

In my first post about my oven, I mentioned that it’s insane and turns itself off.  just as it gets up to temperature.  This-morning I was thinking about how annoying that is.  Especially when I have a dozen extra people here that I’m feeding, and I’ve gotten up an hour earlier than usual to get the egg casseroles cooking, and after about 2 min at cooking temp, it spazzes out and turns off!!!  AAAARGH!

Ahem.

I tend to avoid confrontation.  I don’t like being around people who yell.  When things heat up, I shut down.  I back away and try to get out of there or defuse the situation as quickly as possible.  While I am not so sure that this is a *bad* thing, I’ve been told that it’s annoying.  I have no intention of becoming a fighter/yeller, but I do think I need to be better about this.  On the rare occasion that I get upset with my precious husband, I tend to back off and stop talking.  Actually, I know quite a few people who employ this tactic of conflict resolution.  While this does manage to keep a fight from breaking out, the issue doesn’t get resolved.  It just festers and later pops up in a different area.  In between the time that I suppress my issue and when it comes up somewhere else, it somehow grows and tries to sneak out through snippy comments or little digging remarks.  Next thing I know, I’m completely livid about every little thing… TOTALLY unnecessary!

I hereby resolve to be better about resolving issues.  If it’s big enough to be upset about, it’s big enough to adress.  Otherwise, let it go.

6 responses »

  1. does this have anything to do with our conversation the other day? I am the same way though- it is a lot better if I address the problem right away (kind of like discipline in parenting) then waiting for later. I guess my balancing comment is the other party may not be ready for the discussion and I think you need to weigh how receptive they will be, and if you can go to the Lord and deal with it there. He is always ready to listen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

