Tickled pink

Standard

You may laugh once you read this post.  You may think “simple pleasures for simple minds” or even “wow she’s ridiculous.”  But I’m ok with that!  Really I am.  Because today I started something that I’ve been wanting to do for years!

I started a Starbucks mug collection.

Are you laughing?  I know it’s silly.  But seriously, I’ve wanted to collect those city mugs for SO long!  The one they have for Denver is so cool.  It has a pic of the mountains, stats on the altitude and stuff… it’s just cool.  I used to travel a LOT (Russia, Singapore, Malaysia, Alaska, and all over the US) and wish I would’ve started my collection back then!!!  But better late than never, right?  I keep thinking about how cool it would be to have a shelf of these mugs.

My Grandma Zercher used to have the coolest little collection of bells.  I don’t know how many she had in reality, but in my memory there were at least 50.  Maybe it was 150?  Anyway it was a lot.  I remember being in awe of this assortment of bells that she had collected over the years.  She would patiently answer one after another “what about this one? where did you get it?”  Without ever missing a beat she would say “your grandpa bought that one for me…” or “that was a gift from my sister.”  She had a story to go along with every single one.  I loved that!  I would think “someday I’ll have a collection… of something…”  I can’t collect bells though.  That wouldn’t be very original, would it?  I’ve never been into silver spoons or glass shoes or vintage hats.  What am I into?  Starbucks.  And kids.  But I can’t really put those on my shelf… they’re too wiggly.

At any rate, the collection has begun.  I am so happy!  Not to mention grateful for a husband who, even as he rolls his eyes, says “whatever makes you smile, babe.”  He thinks it’s silly too.  But like I said, I’m ok with that.  😉

And so, without further ado, I present to you the first of my collection!

Merida, Mexico!

12 responses »

  1. Iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii LOVE the idea! Don’t think it’s silly at all!!! 😀 And I think it’s so cool that Starbucks makes one for every major city like that!!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hahaha, I love the way you write and express yourself! Congratulations for your new collection. The next time I see you, I promise to give you one from Guadalajara!!!

    Like

  3. Oh I wish I would’ve know that you were starting this. Last month I visited the first ever Starbuck’s in Seattle and of course they have a special mug. So i guess you’ll have to go there yourself and get one. Any reason to travel someplace, right?!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. aww my pastor collects them too. I think they are cool and would totally collect them…I just don’t drink coffee much so it would seem kind of strange for me to collect coffe mugs right?!?

    I’ll be on the lookout in Peru. I never saw a starbucks there but maybe I just wasn’t looking hard enough

    Like

Leave a Reply

