Let the writing begin

Standard

I’ve always thought the idea of a personal blog was interesting, but entirely too daunting.  Where to start?  What to write about? And who would read it, anyway???

Over the years I’ve had a number of people suggest that I start a blog to give an inside look at mission life. That thought freaks me out, because I don’t see myself as one of *those* missionaries. I have friends who live in little shacks with mud floors… that’s a hard-core missionary! Theirs is a blog that I would read. I live a pretty normal life (by my own standards). I have a tile floor, a concrete house, and an actual stove. I have daily access to internet and telephones. I have read of missionaries who are so far out in the boon docks that they only get to check e-mail and make phone calls home to the US once a month! I have serious admiration for those people. Nothing I am doing even holds a candle to them!

On the other hand. I live in one of the coolest places I have ever seen! San Cristobal, Chiapas, MEX is one of the 10 oldest Colonial cities in the Americas. It is chalk full of history and culture and crawling with interesting people from all over the world. As I type, I have a precious baby (currently 4 months old) in my lap, chewing on my wrist like it’s made of sugar! I have two other little girls playing at my feet… curently 5 and 2 yrs old. At this moment they are planning a talent show that they’ll be putting on for us later this-evening. As far as I can tell, Gabi intends to show of her crab walk and Cloe is going to do a princess dance. I am married to one of the most incredible men I’ve ever met. I moved with him to the mission field in Nov. of `05 and to this day have yet to see him doubt his calling. He is so sure of what God has asked him to do with his life, and no amount of scorning has detered him from it. It’s a serious honor to have a front-row seat in this adventure. We have a host of amazing family and friends, both here and in many other spots around the world. They have been (for the most part) encouraging and supportive and wonderful.

My life *is* pretty amazing. And who am I to say that it’s not as amazing as someone else’s life? For better or worse, boring or exciting, this is most definitely the life God has given me to live at this moment. So I’ve just determined to enjoy every moment, document as much of it as I can, and take nothing for granted. And if you decide that’s something you want to read about, by all means! I will be honored. If not, that’s ok… I’m looking forward to rambling off into cyber space. In either case, let the writing begin!

9 responses »

  1. I am so excited you are doing this! You do have an amazing adventure that God has given you guys and I am amazed at all he is doing in and through you guys. Bring it on girlfriend!

    Like

  2. Good job Julie! You do have the gift of writing and making it interesting! I enjoyed reading your first blog!:) Who would have thought all those years ago you would end up in another country with three beautiful daughters married to a man committed to living for Christ and serving others!! It seems like yesterday you kids were on the ice falling down and worried about the things children do!! May the Lord bless you and keep you and bless this venture!!

    Like

  3. Awesomeness. Like, I said, you live in paradise. 😉 Love it. And yeah, love how there was no apology for where God has you. Love you lots, girl!! Can’t wait to read lots more.

    Like

  4. Yaaay!!! See? Aren’t you glad you decided to start the blog? 😉 I love talking to you every day, but I still can’t wait to see what you write on here! Love you!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

